Board of Directors

David V. Goeddel

David V. Goeddel, Ph.D.

Managing Partner, The Column Group

Dr. Goeddel was the first scientist hired by Genentech and from 1978 to 1993 served in various positions, including Staff Scientist, Director of Molecular Biology and Genentech Fellow. His pioneering work in the fields of gene cloning and expression of human proteins was the basis for five marketed therapeutics developed by Genentech, including human insulin, human growth hormone, interferon-alpha, and tissue plasminogen activator.

Dr. Goeddel co-founded Tularik in November 1991, was Vice President of Research until 1996 and CEO from 1996-2004, when Tularik was acquired by Amgen. Dr. Goeddel has received numerous scientific awards including the Scheele Medal, the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry, the Inventor of the Year Award, the Jacob Heskel Gabbay Award, the Howley Prize for Arthritis Research and the Warren Alpert Foundation Prize. He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He holds a B.A. in Chemistry from UCSD and a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from U. of Colorado.

Board of Director Memberships: NGM Biopharmaceuticals (Chairman), Peloton Therapeutics (Chairman), RAPT Therapeutics, Neurona Therapeutics, Surrozen, Tenaya Therapeutics
Scientific Advisory Board Memberships: Peloton Therapeutics, RAPT Therapeutics

Linda Kozick

Linda Kozick

Former VP and Head of Immuno-Oncology/Oncology Product & Portfolio Strategy, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Ms. Kozick joined our board in December 2016 as an independent board member. She has more than 25 years of experience in the biopharmaceutical industry, including 15 years of strategic commercial leadership in oncology with a focus in immuno-oncology.

Ms. Kozick retired from Bristol-Myers Squibb (BMS) where she most recently served as Vice President and Head of Immune-Oncology/Oncology Product & Portfolio Strategy, and Opdivo and Yervoy Life Cycle Management. Prior to that, she held several key positions including Vice President, Commercial Lead for Opdivo and Immuno-Oncology Platform Strategy, and was instrumental in establishing BMS’s International Immuno-Oncology Network (II-ON).

Ms. Kozick received her B.S. and M.S. from Upstate Medical Center, and her M.B.A. from Chapman University.

Michael F. Giordano

Michael F. Giordano, M.D.

Former SVP and Head of Development, Oncology, & Immuno-Oncology, Bristol-Myers Squibb

Dr. Giordano joined our board in January 2018 as an independent board member bringing more than 15 years of experience leading pharmaceutical research and development organizations. Most recently, he served as Senior Vice President and Head of Development, Oncology and Immuno-Oncology for Bristol-Myers Squibb where he was responsible for the development strategy of the enterprise for this therapeutic area, as well as direction for eight teams working on innovative medicines to improve the standard of care for patients, including Opdivo®, Yervoy®, Empliciti™, and Sprycel®. Prior to this role, Dr. Giordano held positions of increasing responsibility within the research and development organization, leading the development of more than a dozen molecules in the United States, the European Union and Asia. Before joining BMS, he served as Assistant Professor of Medicine and Founding Director of the Cornell Clinical Trials Unit, a National Institutes of Health and Industry supported AIDS clinical trials center at New York Hospital-Cornell University Medical Center. He earned his M.D. and completed his residency and fellowship training at The New York Hospital/Weill Cornell Medical and received his B.A. in Natural Sciences cum laude from The Johns Hopkins University.

William Rieflin

William Rieflin, J.D.

Chief Executive Officer, NGM Biopharmaceuticals Inc.

Mr. Rieflin is the Chief Executive Officer of NGM Bio and has over 20 years of industry experience. Prior to NGM Bio, he was President of XenoPort, Inc. (NASDAQ: XNPT). Prior to that, he was Executive Vice President, Administration, Chief Financial Officer, General Counsel and Secretary for Tularik Inc. (NASDAQ: TLRK), which was acquired by Amgen Inc. in 2004. Previously, he was Vice President, Human Resources, General Counsel and Secretary for AMSCO International, Inc. (NYSE: ASZ). He was also an associate at Sidley & Austin in the corporate and securities department. He began his career as a sales representative for American Hospital Supply Corporation. In addition to RAPT Therapeutics and NGM Bio, he currently serves on the Board of Directors of Kallyope Inc. Mr. Rieflin earned his B.S. from Cornell University, his M.B.A. from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business and his J.D. from Stanford Law School.

Brian Wong

Brian Wong, M.D., Ph.D.

Chief Executive Officer, RAPT Therapeutics

Brian joined RAPT Therapeutics in 2015, bringing more than 15 years of experience leading research organizations. Most recently, he served as Senior Vice President, Research, and Head of Immuno-Oncology at Five Prime Therapeutics, where he led the discovery of novel immuno-oncology therapeutics, one of which has progressed into clinical trials in combination with Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.’s (BMS) Opdivo™. BMS has pledged more than $1 billion to exclusively license the program.

Prior to Five Prime, Brian served as Director of Research in the Inflammation Disease Biology Area at Roche Palo Alto from 2005 to 2009. He led the development of Roche’s rheumatology discovery portfolio, consisting of more than 20 biologics and small-molecule programs in clinical phases from discovery to mid-stage development. From 2000 to 2005, he held various leadership roles at Rigel Pharmaceuticals, where he identified and developed clinical candidates for allergic, autoimmune and respiratory disorders.

Brian received his M.D. from the Weill Cornell Medical College and his Ph.D. in Immunology from Rockefeller University under Dr. Yongwon Choi, Ph.D., a Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, and in collaboration with Nobel Laureate Dr. Ralph Steinman, M.D.